Dolphin

10_04_lowes

On Sunday I went to Lowes for some home maintenance.  While there I realized, from time to time that I must remember to breathe. This action shouldn’t be something I remember; it’s the way we’re built that makes it impossible not to breathe. And yet I find myself having to force myself to breathe. The dolphin must also consciously breathe, which is one of the reasons they don’t drown. Which is why they can eat underwater, sleep, descend to almost 2000 feet underwater. It’s the way their lungs are attached to their blowhole, an evolutionary step that is so much more advanced than our breathing. But maybe it’s not about my affinity with dolphins. It’s the noose that’s forced against my neck weighted by the drag of its knot on my back.

Leave a Reply

